Homeschooling Laws- What you need to know

Feb 21, 2014

Did you know that by 1993 all 50 states made homeschooling a legal option. Now, the laws differ from state to state such as Michigan for example, which has zero reporting requirements compared to New York with stricter requirements.

So what are the laws for Arizona residents you ask…..well, Arizona falls in the semi-liberal category which is good news for you.  You can find Arizona Laws, the affidavit form, and the Home School Statutes at .

Homeschool by definition refers to “a school being largely taught by the parent/custodian/guardian of the child”.  Here are the actual requirements…

  • Children who are between the ages of 6 and 16 years of age as of September 1 are required to attend school. An exception can be made for a child under the age of 8 as of September 1, 2013 if their parent notifies the County School Superintendent in writing that they do not wish to have their child in school at this time.
  • Subjects that  must be taught include reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies, and science.
  • An affidavit of intent needs to be filed within 30 days of the child starting their homeschooling.
  • An affidavit would also need to be filed within 30 days if you decided to discontinue  homeschooling.
  • You will need a certified copy of the child’s birth certificate. If you do not have the child’s birth certificate you can provide alternate proof of age, such as an application for a social security number, original school registration, or baptismal certificate.

Are you looking for a community of support, a place to share ideas and learn from others?  Alternative Education At Home is here to help. Sign up for our free videos and weekly webinars here We look forward to providing you ongoing education and encouragement as you start on this journey.